A few months back Facebook brought us “Memorable Photographs” which displayed pictures of you and the friend you were currently interacting with (I.e. When replying to a status or looking at a photograph).

Now Facebook brings us “Memorable Status Updates” – A similar concept to photographs, but instead it displays your friend’s top 4 status updates over the past 12 months – giving preference to anything you have interacted with. To determine the popularity & relevancy of a status, Facebook uses its ranking algorithm – Edgerank.
Facebook Memorable Status Updates
Above you’ll see my mother’s top 4 updates. I have interacted with the top 2 are statuses by either liking or commenting.

According to Inside Facebook, the memorable status update widget “pulls a random assortment of old status updates” to increase interaction between friends and ultimately the users time-on-site.

One important point thing to note is the position of the new “Memorable Status Updates” widget – It’s above the PPC adverts on the right hand side of the screen. Facebook will of undoubtedly done this to optimise their ad revenue, spending a LOT of time studying user behaviour – particularly Eye Tracking (see this post).
Facebook Eye Tracking Heat Map 2011

From the Facebook eye tracking graphic above, it’s clear that at this stage users don’t pay much attention to the right hand-side of the screen. By putting engaging content such as “Memorable Status Updates & Photographs” users will eventually feel more comfortable in this area – which should improve the click through rates (CTR) of Facebook adverts. Smart indeed.

Update:

So, How do you find you own memorable status updates?

At this stage, there is noway to view which of your status updates that are show in the Facebook Memorable Status Updates widget.

Interestingly though, Readwriteweb.com recieved a tip from a rather privacy-conscious reader that the new Facebook Memorable Status feature was actually showing them updates from as far back as 2008 and 2009…even though they’ve made it a habit of deleting each and every update older than a day old for years now. According to Facebook, however, this was just a bug that affected a small percentage of users.